OK, Who Knows 2 Strokes

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OK, Who Knows 2 Strokes

I have an 02 CR250 that is giving me some issue. When I first got it the engine stumbled a lot and didn't seem to make a lot of power, which was fine with me since I was just starting out. I found a broken wire leading from the ECU and repaired that with a huge improvement in engine performance. I cleaned the carb thoroughly and have been able to tune it for a decent idle and lower throttle input performance. It starts with 5 kicks cold, and one kick when warm. At 1/4 to 3/4 throttle it still stumbles some before it get up one the pipe and rips like it should. But my big headache is that oil is coming unburnt out of the exhaust and making a mess of the rear of the bike after just a couple of hours of riding. What's weird is that it does not smoke that bad, does not foul the plug. It does seem to go through a tank of gas pretty quick, but I have no experience in what to expect. I mix the oil at 50:1 with premium 2 stroke oil.

My research suggests that there may be a bad crankshaft seal allowing transmission oil into the crankcase. Could still be a carb problem. Maybe a broken reed valve.

Anyone have any ideas before go spending money to get this right?

Weld a fence post to the muffler and put the mess behind you!
    Sorry dude, I was tryin' to save your saddlebags.
    KN, this ride's for You.

http://i415.photobucket.com/albums/p...ps2ecwj35m.jpg

Comment

"Back in the Day" we would have to pull the head/cylinder and inspect the reed valves. The head, piston dome and exhaust port
      would become completely carbon'ed up. So much so even the exhaust port would almost be completely closed up and would
      require a good cleaning.

Two strokes are easy to work on. A good de-carbon/cleaning, spec piston/clyinder, new base and head gasket and you
      will know you are good to go.

Unless you have already done that?