ZZR1200 added to stable today

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ZZR1200 added to stable today

Hi! ZZR newbie here! Its winter here in Montreal but I am looking forward to riding it. I know the former owner well and he is moving on to another bike. I do want to upgrade the front brakes. One caliper needs rebuilding but this is a good time to totally upgrade. Anybody on the forum with experience on doing this? Any guidance will help. Cheers! Pete

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome, and congratulations on picking up an awesome bike! If you do enough digging on this site you should find just about any ZZR1200 question answered.

A few people here have done a swap to early-2000s Suzuki GSXR Tokico front calipers. There should be lots of posts about it floating around already. Another Canadian on this site did the mod about two years ago.

Make sure you find a Greg Couch superbike fork brace if yours hasn't got one already. It's the single-best mod for improving front-end feel (the forks are undersized and bendy).

Comment

Howdy

Comment

Hello, welcome to the site.
        Front brakes: this is what I did.
        I suffer from kleptomania. When it gets bad, I take something for it.

Comment

Thank you for the information. Very informative. I will try to replicate your brake mod it is exactly what this old ZZR needs. I will start scouring the net for bits and pieces and will report back here as the work progresses. I gotta say this 60 yr old is pretty stoked at the prospect of riding this beast this summer. I have a 2005 DL also and have been riding for decades. Cheers! Pete

Comment

A more up-to-date link to the adapter is here.
            I suffer from kleptomania. When it gets bad, I take something for it.

Comment

Welcome to the site!
              KN, this ride's for You.

http://i415.photobucket.com/albums/p...ps2ecwj35m.jpg

Comment