Life's enduring questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Life's enduring questions

Time for new rubber this week and, while I am at it, going to refit a new set of angled tire valves which were removed by the dipshit who fitted my last tires on the only time I have allowed a dealer to do ANY shit to my bike. (Did he just want them for himself or some arcane supposed safety crap that demanded replacing them?)
    Thus my question is.. why the f*** is it beyond manufacturers to supply new wheels with angled valves in place? Yeah, I have a 90 degree fitting on my air hose which helps but it is still necessary for me to fist my baby past the brake discs to get access and get that perfect "pffft" to check pressure and prevent leakage.
    Simple shit I agree but an unnecessary fiddle which, in truth, deflects me from a quick pressure check as often as I should. (Lazy bastard!)
    Some years ago I recall participating in a survey to go to Kawasaki re suggestions for improvements to their products. Apparently they listened because, lo and behold, soon after I saw the re-introduction of two similarly friendly standard mods. i.e. eccentric chain adjusters and factory fitted bungee attachment hooks. Both of these wonderful inventions were present on my '86 GpZ RX1000. Why did they disappear I have to ask? My 2013 14R is sadly devoid of handy attachment points for the occasional bungee lash up. Even the European version of the same vintage had a passenger grab handle behind the rear seat which was kinda useful for other purposes. Why not on the US spec I wonder?
    I actually picked up said handle on eBay for small outlay and the mounting holes are present to take the bolts so the sub frame is exactly the same. I have not gotten around to a little surgery on the plastic tail piece to allow it to fit. (Where is that Dremel tool I used to have?)
    OK Bitch.. bitch.. bitch over!