ZZR1100 D6 caliper upgrade

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ZZR1100 D6 caliper upgrade

Does anyone know where to get adapter kit to fit GSXR1000 k1 (2001) 6 pot caliper to ZZr
    I know there used to be kits that sleeved the Fork down from 10 to 8mm and space the caliper to right position

Any help appreciated

Re: ZZR1100 D6 caliper upgrade

Shoot Claude a P.M. He's an expert on the 11s. I think the kit consists of a few washers and some longer bolts. The swap is very easy (nuts and bolts). Here's some interesting reading on the subject:

http://www.zxforums.com/forums/zx-11...-calipers.html

Comment

Thanks I am a newbie and cannot PM - Do you think you could pass on the request for me - thanks

Comment

According to the thread I linked, Claude just sold his last adapter kit, but if you check it out, you might be able to put one together yourself since it's not exactly rocket science ZXForums has an active ZX-11 contingent.

Comment

Originally posted by colinm View Post
          Does anyone know where to get adapter kit to fit GSXR1000 k1 (2001) 6 pot caliper to ZZr
          I know there used to be kits that sleeved the Fork down from 10 to 8mm and space the caliper to right position

Any help appreciated
          Why can't you just drill and tap the mounting holes on the caliper and fit a 1mm thick washer between the caliper and the mounting bosses. These adapter kits sound like a hard fix for an easy job

Comment

You could/can. I wouldn't if it increased the diameter of the mounting holes/decreased the mounting surface area for obvious reasons. The 6 pot brakes were to be discovered as just "not all that". At the time they Were an improvement. Stainless steel lines,HH pads and fresh fluid will give same/better results. My $.02. Danno?

Comment

Yes, properly upgraded the ZZR1200 brakes were very good.
              Do the 3 simple things that Jeff (Shotgun) mentioned and you should be good to go.