ZZR600 year 2000, acceleration issues when overtaking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ZZR600 year 2000, acceleration issues when overtaking

Hi, newbie here. Had 2 ZZR600 in my past and now bought another as my main transportation. It starts fine, hunts a little while warming, but seems to settle down. Rode it home (220 miles) without issue....apart from...

From a stand still it accelerates right through each gear all the way no trouble. However, when traveling along at 70mph on the motorway and then trying to overtake......nothing, just a really really slow acceleration.

Now, I know from previous ZZR`s that this is not right. Got it home had it apart down to the carbs and cant see anything wrong? Runs up at home no issue, dont think its the tank breather, but cant rule it out right now as bikes in bits upgrading the brakes to some Nissin 4 pots and fixing fairing brackets, brake master cylinder and other things so it is a good time to look into the carbs, which I admit, I dont know that much about.

Has anyone got any ideas or fixes for this at all?

I`m a DIYer as cant afford garage costs.

I have totally stripped previous bikes to do gearbox changes etc, so know my way around these bikes a bit.

I would start with having a look at the needles and seats.
    Good judgement comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgement.

Comment

If you suspect the tank vent, I would try to open the cap as near to the time as your issue arises. Should hear a sucking sound. I had that issue with a boat one time.

Comment

Originally posted by mehush View Post
        Should hear a sucking sound. I had that issue with a boat one time.
        That was your money coming out of your savings account